Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/18/2018, 06:11 PM   #1
steved350
Registered Member
 
steved350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 236
Cloraquine Phosphate

In the past I have used Cupramine to QT new fish. Im really unhappy with the success I have had with it in the past. I want to try my hand at using Cloraquine Phosphate. I understand that the tank and equipment I used is contaminated with copper but will that be an issue when changing to CP for QT?


__________________
Don't let your kids Grow up to fast!!
steved350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 06:29 PM   #2
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 87,085
I am not sure, although a quick wipe-down with some vinegar will clean tanks and equipment. Live rock and sand would be a problem, though.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 06:38 PM   #3
steved350
Registered Member
 
steved350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 236
There's nothing in the tank except a few pieces for PVC, a heater and a HOB filter


__________________
Don't let your kids Grow up to fast!!
steved350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 06:55 PM   #4
ironwill723
Registered Member
 
ironwill723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 983
Run some carbon to be sure it is removed before adding the CP. It will not be an issue.


ironwill723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 07:24 PM   #5
tkeracer619
Registered Member

 
tkeracer619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 16,854
How were you dosing cupramine?

If you follow the instructions on the bottle you will likely run into an issue.

Need to slowly raise levels.

Some fish do not tolerate CP very well. Hippo tangs, wrasses, and anthias come to mind.


__________________
Hobby Experience: 9200ish gallons, 26 skimmers, and a handful of Kent Scrapers.
Current Tank:
Vortech Powered 600G SPS Tank w/ 100gal frag tank & 100g Sump. RK2-RK10 Skimmer. ReefAngel. Radium 20k.
tkeracer619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/19/2018, 05:45 PM   #6
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 87,085
The media in the HOB probably should go, but the rest can be cleaned easily with some vinegar, if you're worried. I'm not sure I'd worry very much.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.