Reef Central Online Community
Neptune Systems

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/18/2018, 01:13 PM   #1
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 444
New Tank All Bulkheads Leaking

Filled the tank up for the first time today to test the tank, plumbing, etc.

Tank has ghost overflow set up with BeanAnimal plumbing. There are 3 pass through holes to connect the back box. All 3 bulkheads are leaking. I only hand tightened them as I didnít want to overtighten. Do you think this is my problem. Maybe a 1/4 inch turn with a wrench? Gaskets are between inside of overflow box and nut of bulkhead.


JaySchulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 01:30 PM   #2
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 444



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


JaySchulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 01:30 PM   #3
Whiskylen
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 51
The gaskets need to be between the overflow box and the tank


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Whiskylen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 01:32 PM   #4
Whiskylen
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskylen View Post
The gaskets need to be between the overflow box and the tank


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Actually my bad should be on the outside of tank unless you use a double gasket between the tank and overflow then overflow and bulkhead


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Whiskylen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 01:40 PM   #5
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 444
Ok I have a gasket at number 1 and number 3





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


JaySchulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 01:41 PM   #6
GQuinn
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,008
You need one at 1 and 2. Number 2 is between the outside of the tank the overflow box.


GQuinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 02:07 PM   #7
lagatbezan
Registered Member
 
lagatbezan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,057
Gasket should always be on the flange side and not the nut.
I usually put a little bit of Vaseline between the gasket and the surface and then tighten the bulkhead down. This will give you a nice tight seal.


__________________
Ryan.
300g with velocity t4 for return and a Reflo dart on a closed loop, T5 lights & SRO3000 skimmer.

Current Tank Info: 300g

Last edited by lagatbezan; 02/18/2018 at 02:59 PM.
lagatbezan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 02:09 PM   #8
Dross
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 40
Agree with 1 and 2. The gasket at 3 on the nut does not do anything for you as the water can just pass between the threads and the nut and exit between the overflow box and the tank.


Dross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 02:10 PM   #9
ca1ore
Grizzled & Cynical

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 17,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaySchulz View Post
Ok I have a gasket at number 1 and number 3





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Looks like the new modular marine overflow with the removable internal skim box? If so, and ironically, position #2 in your diagram is the critical place for a gasket. Positions 1 and 3 are really just optional.


__________________
Simon

Got back into the hobby ..... planned to keep it simple ..... yeah, right ..... clearly I need a new plan! Pet peeve: anemones host clowns; clowns do not host anemones!

Current Tank Info: 450 Reef; 120 refugium; 60 Frag Tank, 30 Introduction tank; multiple QTs

Last edited by ca1ore; 02/18/2018 at 02:17 PM.
ca1ore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 02:16 PM   #10
Jazeel55
Registered Member
 
Jazeel55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 67
A few grain of sand can make it leak


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Jazeel55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 02:53 PM   #11
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 444
Alright looks like I’m getting wet lol


JaySchulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 03:37 PM   #12
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 444
New Tank All Bulkheads Leaking

Thanks guys. Hopefully problem solved. My wife thought my complaining about it being cold was funny so she took some pictures.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


JaySchulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 04:19 PM   #13
HBtank
Premium Member
 
HBtank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 2,960
Lol


__________________
80g Aiptasia dominated reef tank.. with fish and now a bunch of berghia!

Current Tank Info: 80g tank, re-starting a reef after a zoanthid nudibranch plauge, followed by months of steady and unstoppable STN/RTN, crashed; stayed FOWLR for a couple years, currently an aiptasia dominated reef tank with fishies and BERGHIA
HBtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 04:39 PM   #14
ifarmer
Registered Member
 
ifarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaySchulz View Post
Ok I have a gasket at number 1 and number 3





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1 and 3 is adequate.
Having 2 does not hurt either just not necessary
What you have now is good and maybe you did not tight them enought that is why i think you have the leak.
Just so you know you can be fine with just 1 and 3.

Sent from my GT-I9192 using Tapatalk



Last edited by ifarmer; 02/18/2018 at 04:45 PM.
ifarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 04:45 PM   #15
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifarmer View Post
You only need 1 and 3 only.
Having 2 does not hurt either just not necessary
Again. Only 1 and 3

Sent from my GT-I9192 using Tapatalk
1 & 3 is what I originally had. I moved 3 to 2 and now thereís no more leaks.

Well no more leaks at the bulkheads. I have one drain that is leaking down by the sump where I glued to pieces of pvc together.


JaySchulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 04:48 PM   #16
ifarmer
Registered Member
 
ifarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaySchulz View Post
1 & 3 is what I originally had. I moved 3 to 2 and now thereís no more leaks.

Well no more leaks at the bulkheads. I have one drain that is leaking down by the sump where I glued to pieces of pvc together.
If you move 3 to 2 then you will have leak at the overflow box (soon or later). You dont want water to leave the overflow box.

Sent from my GT-I9192 using Tapatalk


ifarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 04:57 PM   #17
LQT
Registered Member
 
LQT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 1,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifarmer View Post
If you move 3 to 2 then you will have leak at the overflow box (soon or later). You dont want water to leave the overflow box.

Sent from my GT-I9192 using Tapatalk
Actually, having the gasket at 3 is where the leak is coming from. Putting a gasket on the nut side of a bulkhead is useless as water is still seeping through the nut/bulkhead thread interface, hence the OP’s leaks, which was emanating from the exterior box.


__________________
- Leon (aka - Water Dog)

Working on an upgrade: Deep Blue 57 Edge ATI Acro Garden
LQT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 08:43 PM   #18
jamie1981
Registered Member
 
jamie1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifarmer View Post
1 and 3 is adequate.
Having 2 does not hurt either just not necessary
what you have now is good and maybe you did not tight them enought that is why i think you have the leak.
Just so you know you can be fine with just 1 and 3.

Sent from my gt-i9192 using tapatalk
wrong! Gasket 3 does nothing #2 is the critical one that is your seal between the tank and overflow box.


jamie1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 08:50 PM   #19
jamie1981
Registered Member
 
jamie1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifarmer View Post
If you move 3 to 2 then you will have leak at the overflow box (soon or later). You dont want water to leave the overflow box.

Sent from my GT-I9192 using Tapatalk
Actually no you won't

#2 is your seal all the way around your bulkhead between the tank and overflow. Any water that gets around the bulkhead between the tank and overflow will not be able to seep out.

The best seal is to lube the o-ring with some Vaseline or better silicon o-ring lube, this will insure a good watertight seal.


jamie1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 09:22 PM   #20
ca1ore
Grizzled & Cynical

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 17,253
This may be a stupid question, but what will you do if you have to service the overflow once the tank is full of rocks and coral?


__________________
Simon

Got back into the hobby ..... planned to keep it simple ..... yeah, right ..... clearly I need a new plan! Pet peeve: anemones host clowns; clowns do not host anemones!

Current Tank Info: 450 Reef; 120 refugium; 60 Frag Tank, 30 Introduction tank; multiple QTs
ca1ore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/18/2018, 10:39 PM   #21
JaySchulz
Registered Member
 
JaySchulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Woodlands TX
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1ore View Post
This may be a stupid question, but what will you do if you have to service the overflow once the tank is full of rocks and coral?
Not a stupid question at all because itís one of many things that will be difficult to do with the tanks footprint and no fish room behind. Ive got two options. Arrange my rocks so that they are not on the back wall and if the scenario comes that I need to service, Iíll step into the tank like I did today. Option 2 is cut through the wall behind the tank and make an access door. Itís my wifeís closet and I could service it easier that way. I tried to make her closet my fish room and give her my smaller closet but she didnít go for that.


JaySchulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/19/2018, 03:26 PM   #22
Yogre
Cheesehead Reefer
 
Yogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaySchulz View Post
I tried to make her closet my fish room and give her my smaller closet but she didnít go for that.
I can't imagine why. If I had tried that my wife would have smothered me with my pillow.


__________________
"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow." ~ Albert Einstein

Current Tank Info: 215 gal TBS Reef
Yogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/19/2018, 05:07 PM   #23
billdogg
Registered Member
 
billdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Posts: 10,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaySchulz View Post
I tried to make her closet my fish room and give her my smaller closet but she didn’t go for that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogre View Post
I can't imagine why. If I had tried that my wife would have smothered me with my pillow.
Do like I did and wait for her to leave for a couple days! I ended up with extra electrical outlets and running water to the sump with a remote control switch.

and +1 to a very small amount of silicone plumbers grease (NOT vaseline! it is, after all, petroleum jelly!) Use just enough to make the gasket shiny - no globs!


__________________
I'll try to be nice if you try to be smarter!
I can't help that I grow older, but you can't make me grow up!

Current Tank Info: 120 mixed reef with 40b sump, ASM G2 skimmer, AI Sol Blue x 2, and a 60g Frag Tank with 100g rubbermaid sump. 2 x Kessil A360w lights, no skimmer (yet)
billdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/24/2018, 02:25 AM   #24
Modular Marine
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Wish I had seen this thread sooner Jay; as others have already answered the question, spot #2 is the only place you need a gasket for this overflow. Glad to see the tank with water in it though! If you have any more questions feel free to contact us directly


Modular Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/24/2018, 05:58 AM   #25
Bent
I got nothin'
 
Bent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The anals
Posts: 6,408
Good god I want a tank that big...

And a place to put it.


__________________
Quitters never lose.

[QUOTE=CStrickland]Who gets mad at a starfish?[/QUOTE]

Current Tank Info: 75g DT, 30G refugium, 10g chaeto tank, 50g stock tank basement sump
Bent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.